Navin Kundra Wows at Asian Cricket Awards


On October 7 2014 an elite group descended onto the famous Lord’s Cricket ground to celebrate the British Asian community and their contribution towards cricket for the first ever Asian Cricket Awards (ACA) 2014.

Navin Kundra was invited by the founders of the inaugural Awards to perform a special set in front of the distinguished sports personalities, celebrities and influential public figures.

“It was an honour to perform in such an iconic venue amongst some of the greatest sports personalities in the world”, said Navin. He entertained the audience with live renditions of his latest cover of John Legend’s “All Of Me” along with his number one hits “Tere Liye” and “Shudaayi”.

Navin Kundra live at the Asian Cricket Awards

Navin Kundra live at the Asian Cricket Awards

The Awards, hosted by former BBC Radio 1 presenter Nihal and ex cricketer Isa Guha, aim to not only appreciate the British Asian community but also provide a platform to encourage more British Asians to get involved in the sport and embrace everything cricket has to offer.

ACA co-founder Jas Jassal BEM said “Navin was truly amazing tonight showcasing what a versatile artist and great performer he is.”

Navin Kundra with co-founders Jas Jassal BEM & Baljit Rihal

Navin Kundra with co-founders Jas Jassal BEM & Baljit Rihal

Judges included former England captain Mike Gatting OBE, the Rt Hon. Baroness Warsi, ex-England player Min Patel and Wisden editor Scyld Berry.

Here is the full list of winners for the Asian Cricket Awards 2014:

Professional player of the year: Moeen Ali
Professional young player of the year: Ravi Patel (Middlesex, England Lions)
Grassroots awards: Gopi Raj (England Tamil Cricket League)
Amateur player of the year: Simran Panesar (Warwickshire U19)
Woman in cricket: Salma Bi (Worcestershire)
Coach of the year: Qasim Ali (Lancashire South Asian Talent Search, England Physical Disability Squad)
Media: Isa Guha (IPL TV presenter, former England bowler)
Behind the scenes: Amjad Aziz (vice-chairman Birmingham Cricket League – Parks League)
Asian cricket club of the year: London Tigers (inner-city London)
Inspiration award: Naz Khan (chairman, Attock CC)
Special recognition award: Wasim Khan MBE
Lifetime achievement award: Nasser Hussain OBE